Hours: Monday-Friday 7:30 am - 4:00 pm
Phone: 740-592-4431
Fax: 740-594-2370
Address: 278 W. Union St., Athens, OH 45701
After Hours Emergency Number: 1-877-627-2858
ODH COVID-19 Hotline: 833-427-5634

General Information


The Athens City-County Health Department works to improve and maintain the health of Athens County residents and protect people where we live.

A safer, healthier, and informed Athens County.

Health Commissioner & Medical Director
James Gaskell, MD

Board of Health
Michael Wootton, DDS - President
Robert Woodworth, DO - President Pro Tempore
Robert Frey
Heidi Shaw, RN
Betty Jo Parsley

Jack Pepper, RS

Leadership Team
James Gaskell, MD - Health Commissioner & Medical Director
Jack Pepper, RS - Administrator
Crystal Jones, RN - Director of Nursing
Ruth Dudding, CHES - Director of Community Health & Engagement
Patrick McGarry, RS - Director of Environmental Health
Court Witschey - Director of Policy & Planning